The Bearded Brood of Boston


There is truly nothing more exciting than to see the words “2013 World Series” painted behind home plate at Fenway Park. It’s media day at Fenway today and I can only imagine the vibe and enthusiasm in The Hub as Red Sox Nation prepares for the fall classic with home field advantage. ¶ I remember my first World Series experience and oddly enough the same two teams matched up for the World Series in 1967. For some strange reason I remember running home from Brown School Elementary to our little two bedroom cape on Longview Terrace to watch Jim Lonborg square off against Bob Gibson on our black and white television set in the den down the hall from the kitchen. Unsure why the game came on so early in the afternoon back then, or was I just running home to make sure I had a good spot in the den to myself? This was Yaz’s rookie season who shared the outfield with the likes of Reggie Smith, Tony Conigliaro and Ken Harrelson amongst others. The infield that year was Mike Andrews, Rico Petrocelli, George Scott, Joe Foy, Dalton Jones with Elston Howard behind the plate wearing the tools of ignorance. ¶ I was lucky enough to get my hands on a Carl Yastrzemski baseball card that year and thumb tacked it to a wall in my dad’s basement barroom where these black and white photographs of Yankee teams, Yankee players lived. If this is your first time to the blog you need to know my father, a native Bostonian was a die-hard New York Yankee fan, so now you know a little more about how well we got along during baseball season. Hell, my dad also went to the rival Salem High School across the bridge, lucky we got on with each other at all! Several hours had passed after my putting Yaz’s baseball card up there with those b&w pinstriped photos and being all of six years old I had no idea what a conniption is but I was about to find out! ¶ About 5:30 that afternoon my bedroom door opened, and there in the doorway stood my Dad holding Yaz’s card. He flung the card into my room with orders to start my own &*)*’n wall! All righty then! ¶ In the season which followed I went to Fenway for my first time. Dad stopped off at the Blue Star Lounge on Route 1 in Saugus on our way into town for a couple of cold ones. We were about to see the SOX and Yankees, what in the world were doing at the Blue Star Lounge? That’s an entirely different story and since we’re talking Boston Red Sox baseball I won’t even litter this blog entry with any more pinstripe pollution than I’ve already done. ¶ Suffice it to say, I’ll have on my colors here in Los Angeles for Game 1 and 2, and then fly home to San Francisco where Bonnie and I can watch Games 3 and 4 properly, as in, with each other clinking newly opened beers and glasses of wine with each heralded hoorah for the bearded brood we have grown to love. ¶ Scream it from your porches, scream it from your back doors, scream it from your cars boys and girls … “LET’S GO RED SOX!!”

Keeping her close …

Love,

Paul

4 thoughts on “The Bearded Brood of Boston

  1. Things are getting crazy here for sure. You never get tired of seeing our beloved sports teams dominating the airwaves. Cowboy Up and Idiots, move over the Beards are in town. I would say enjoy the game, but I’m sure we’ll text a time or two during the game.
    GO RED SOX! repeat 2004 – take out the Cards

  2. Good site! I really love how it is easy on my eyes and the data are well written. I’m wondering how I might be notified when a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your RSS which must do the trick! Have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

