Reading Leads to Rambling


Date: January 28th, 2011

Time: 7:30 AM PST

Status: Reading Leads to Rambling

Info: Is Friday really the right day to start managing or beginning to improve my own time management? I already know the answer to this question, and I suspect many of you either have the same response (begins with the letter “N”) but unless each of us are 100% perfect in our day-to-day operations then perhaps listening to a positive suggestion may be a step in the right direction, yes?

Reading normally does lead to additional information.  Today it leads to a ramble … Particularly when the reading, at least these days is not so much in the fiction/non-fiction category available at Barnes & Noble but in the electronic media known as the “BLOG”.  This term “blog” was thrown at us about a decade or so ago, and Urban Dictionary defines blog as:

Short for weblog.

A meandering, blatantly uninteresting online diary that gives the author the illusion that people are interested in their stupid, pathetic life. Consists of such riveting entries as “homework sucks” and “I slept until noon today.”

v. intr.

The act of posting to a weblog.

So with that very unflattering definition behind us I continue this “blog” to let you know where we are after meeting with our Surgeon this past Wednesday.

Dr. Norton indicated we’ll need approximately 1 calendar year with her, her staff, the team of professionals focused on Bonnie’s health to be completely out of the woods and onto the road of recovery.  Yes – ONE CALENDAR YEAR.  I tried desperately to put a year into a sports analogy; baseball season – 6 months, hockey season – 6 months, football season – 20 weeks.  None of those worked.

I need to learn how to better manage my time, my schedule, and all those things related to being a good husband, provider, father, and friend.  So in the early morning hours, by myself, in the house with LuLu and her snoring – the web provides me some solace where I can either bullshit with those up and about on the east coast via facebook chat, or start a blog on LuLu’s page, or get everyone caught up on Bonnie’s page.  Hell … wonder if Logan or Taylor are getting jealous because Dad is not writing about either of them?  Probably not – two tough and well-adjusted kids.

I try my best to keep these blogs under the 600 word mark – too much and people wane, too little and the customer/reader doesn’t come back.  Am already teetering at 400 so I’m going to do this. 

If you’re a Bonnie Booster (sidebar of this page) – call her, check in with her.  This blog is providing the information to ensure there’s no mis-information, but I certainly won’t capture everything.  Listening and hearing her voice on the phone will be most helpful and the sooner we start communicating with her directly … the easier it will be when things begin to get difficult.

Difficult? 

Well – yes.  We learned the other day that her radiation therapy will consist of fifteen minute bouts each day – five days a week for a period of at least six weeks.  The good news is – we can do this locally in town.

Side effects? TIRED – REALLY TIRED.

Bonnie says she’s “tired” when she wakes up in the morning so I can’t imagine what this is going to be like.  Of course I’ll be blogging about it – that’s what I do, but I can only read what the side effects are from a book that at least is current (whew!).

Okay … the word count is 575.

I’ve started a phone text group titled “BC” and it does not stand for Breast Cancer – but the parallel is there I know.  There are nineteen names in the text group and I will more than likely test it when our friend in Italy returns to the States – don’t be alarmed when you receive a test from me – many of you probably don’t even have my phone number in your system – how do I know this?  I added six phone numbers to my blackberry yesterday; Frannie, Neillee, Cheryl, Julie, Jayne, Toni … gotcha!!

Keep her close you guys – CALL HER.

This was a ramble – I know.  Bare with me.

Peace,

Paul

Leave a Reply

