She’s Back!


Date: May 4th, 2011

Time: 7:00 AM

Status: Stranger in the kitchen

Info: We had a stranger in the kitchen last night. This stranger was up and about, on her feet and preparing dessert for our evening meal and it was REALLY nice to see.  The stranger of course was the special lady we write and read about most everyday.  While preparing some steaks Fred Flintstone would have been proud of and the red potatoes I mentioned to Bonnie that I had forgotten to prep the asparagus causing a lack in a vegetable for the dinner plate.  Well, after that news I walked out into the backyard to attend to the steaks and when I returned I saw the “stranger” preparing a beautiful basket of strawberries, blackberries and blueberries.  I was so great to see her in the kitchen again – and I say that of course without any chauvinism – I think you all know that by now. 

Dinner was great, but the dessert, because of who prepared it was the highlight of the meal.  SHE’S BACK!

Today we head to Santa Rosa to meet with our new Oncologist; Dr. Anderson.  She’s been nervous about this appointment for the last few days and I think it’s because of the great strides she’s made in the recent weeks … nonetheless her anxiety level is heightened but I have a great feeling about today and of course if there’s REALLY GREAT NEWS then you’ll be hearing about it almost immediately through a broadcast text.

Remember Door #3? Remember the game show “Let’s Make A Deal” with Monte Hall? Today we’re not exactly contestants for that crazy show, but we are certainly pulling for the prize behind Door #3, and if it happens that we have to experience the thrills of chemotherapy – well, then we do it. 

Remember that stranger in the kitchen? Her inner strength is up to the task, but still … the number 3 has been my favorite number ever since I was a young boy and it all relates to a member of the Chicago Blackhawks back in the early 70’s.  Keith Magnuson who played professional hockey from 1965 to 1980 wore that number and he would drop his gloves and take on anyone who wanted to go – and lost nearly all of the fights he was ever in, but I loved watching that red head’s determination and that number has stayed with me for the past four decades. 

Clearly there was a reason. 

Keep her close you guys.

Love,

Paul

3 thoughts on “She’s Back!

  1. Such great news that she feels up to doing some of the more routine things. It’s been a long time coming–I know that for a fact as I struggle with it myself. Fingers crossed for a good onco visit.

Leave a Reply

