Blind Faith & Assumptions


It’s a long weekend and after a wonderful afternoon spent in Napa we’re now home, on the couch, under blankets and enjoying the company of the Lu-dog.  We arrived home as the sun was just getting ready to say goodbye for the day and on television tonight we watched 60 Minutes.  One of the stories tonight profiled the legitimacy of antidepressants.  Leslie Stahl interviewed a number of renowned scientists, psychologists and psychiatrists.  Oddly enough the pharmaceutical companies refused to comment.  So here’s my question – one in which I do not expect an answer to – though your comments, suggestions and opine are certainly welcome.  How on earth do we expect to defeat depression through the use of medicine without feedback from the companies that produce the medicine?  Bonnie and I sat there watching this piece and commenting as fast as the questions came from Ms. Stahl.  We are all stakeholders in this, whether or not we know someone who is battling depression.  This piece could have easily been replaced with Alzheimer’s, alcoholism, muscular dystrophy, ALS, cancer, et al, etc., etc., etc. and even though this piece recently aired on 60 Minutes has now concluded and already in the archives, I believe it’s safe to assume lobbyists are in charge of the Food & Drug Administration.  At the conclusion of the program I looked at Bonnie and simply stated “if the drugs you’ve been prescribed do not work I will be bat shit upset.”

We’ve been trained to trust the lab coats and their prescribed remedies in managing our health care.  From the broken bones we endured on the ball fields as children to the more complex issues we face today as adults, parents and spouses.  As I have related in other posts, musical lyrics from those artists I listen to often mean more to me than the music itself.  Tom Waits, in his new album; “Bad As Me” pens a beautiful piece entitled “Hell Broke Luce”.  This song, as I listen to it, reflects on the U.S. soldiers, sailors and airmen involved in the current campaign regardless of the location and although Tom is an acquired taste, his lyrics in this song ring true to the same blind faith we show to the FDA, the medicinal professionals and the executive office of the White House … don’t get me wrong, I love this country, though the older and wiser I become, I find agreeing with the words you’re about to read easier than understanding why the pharmaceutical companies cannot answer the requests of 60 Minutes.

Hell Broke Luce by Tom Waits: I had to get home but I left / I had to get home but I left / RIGHT – LEFT / that big fuckin bomb made me deaf, deaf / a HUMVEE mechanic with his Kevlar on wrong / with a suicide bomb / and hell broke luce / hell broke luce / dig fuckin ditches in the middle of the road / you’d pay a hundred dollars just for filling in the hole / listen to the general every goddamn word / how many ways can you polish up a turd / and LEFT – RIGHT / LEFT – LEFT – RIGHT / hell broke luce / hell broke luce / the only ones responsible for making this mess / got their asses stapled to a goddamn desk / and hell broke luce, hell broke luce / LEFT – RIGHT – LEFT / looking for the war was a chef, I was a chef / what was the name, it was Jeff, Jeff / I lost a buddy in Iraq / come down from the meth so I slept, slept / I had to get home but I left, left / Pantsed at the wind for a joke / I pranced right in with the dope / glanced at her shins she said nope / LEFT – RIGHT – LEFT / hasn’t any wool / get me another bodybag, but the bodybag’s full / my face was scars, scars / I miss my home, I miss my porch / LEFT – RIGHT – LEFT / give up all hope and march, march / life stands and ransacked dinner with the pope / and LEFT – RIGHT – LEFT / got his sons … / Sergio’s developing a real bad cough and hell broke luce / hell broke luce / hell broke luce / boom went his head away and boom went Valerie / what the hell was it that the president said? / give them all a beautiful parade instead / LEFT – RIGHT – LEFT / while I was over there I never got to vote / I left my arm in my coat / my mum she died … road / and set by the fire in her coat / just before he died he had a coke / now I’m home and I’m blind and I’m broke / what is next?

Again, Tom is an acquired taste.  Should common sense be the same?  I want to trust everyone I come in contact with – at least the first time I interact with you.  The problem is, at least in this 60 Minutes piece, Leslie Stahl was not able to speak with the pharmaceutical companies and that alone speaks volume.  What is next?

Tom Waits lyrics courtesy of: http://www.metrolyrics.com/hell-broke-luce-lyrics-tom-waits.html

Love,

Paul

4 thoughts on “Blind Faith & Assumptions

  1. I am only commenting to make you understand of the excellent encounter our friend’s daughter gone through viewing your on line site. She realized such a lot of issues, not forgetting just what it’s like to possess a marvelous instruction spirit to have other individuals without problems fully understand several complex subject matter. Anyone undoubtedly surpassed our very own expected outcomes. Thank you for providing the useful, reliable, revealing as well as fun ideas on this topic to Gloria.

  2. Nice post. I learn something more challenging on different blogs everyday. It will always be stimulating to read content from other writers and practice a little something from their store. I’d prefer to use some with the content on my blog whether you don’t mind. Natually I’ll give you a link on your web blog. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of Blind Faith & Assumptions | CANCER … We “CAN” beat this! . Thanks for the post. I will definitely comeback.

Leave a Reply

