Good Things for Good People


You roll that blank piece of paper into the mill of the typewriter and try your best to capture the best events of the seventeen years that’s included a fun-loving little girl named Logan.  Instead, you remain with tradition and stay home and bake her birthday cake.  I was reminded the other night that this quote unquote tradition actually hasn’t taken place for the past five years and there’s little sense in arguing with someone who almost always has her facts in place.  ¶ Five years ago we were on Martha’s Vineyard and on the afternoon of her big day my buddy and I had the oven preheated, Ron White on the television and while we managed a few adult beverages while whipping up her birthday cake – two sailors in the kitchen – two sailors cracking eggs and trying to find just about everything in the kitchen made for one helluvan afternoon. ¶ So to right the wrong of the past few years I did what any native from the Garden City would do … fire up the stereo, plug in the IPOD with a selection of Lynyrd Skynyrd and Aerosmith and let it rip in a home where there’s only one individual with his faithful and sleeping English bulldog LuLu. ¶ The house right now (3:PM) has all the earmarks of a keg party without all the noise of people walking through the front door, nor the keg😦 .  We’ll have to wait until Logan turns 21 for that one!! ¶  Taylor was off to her lifeguarding gig early this morning and after a few domicile chores were rectified my bride and the birthday girl headed to the city by the bay to take in a day of luxury and leisure at TruTonight’s menu includes … wait, what? Who gives a crap about tonight’s menu?  This post is about the fact that Bonnie and I are celebrating the birth of our seventeen year old which will remain the subject matter of today’s Stay-cation Day 4.  ¶ As I have mentioned many, many times in this blog during Bonnie’s recovery … I could not have gone through her recovery without the help of our youngest – simply could not have done it.  There were many an afternoon I would come home from work, a day in which Bonnie spent on her back in the confines of our bedroom and Logan had hustled home from school, started a load of two of laundry, started preparing the night’s meal and by the time I walked on in I’d find the two of them all nestled in our bed together. ¶ Logan is an extremely comforting sole (she clearly gets that from her mom) and after knocking out one of yesterday’s agenda items with ease (and of course assistance from Logan) her room has been redone where the images of “Glee” have been removed, replaced with functional and fashionable shelving on the wall above her bed.  There’s another gift which she knows little of, which was installed only a few hours ago which will truly make her final year at Petaluma High School something special.  Good things for good people – it’s just the way this planet works and Bonnie and I are more than proud of our little girl and the steps she’s climbed on the ladder of maturity.  The stereo just kicked in to a liver version of “Freebird’ which reminds me of the bird I’ve got to get in the oven … I suspect a long and glorious evening in front of us.  Nice to have this time to prepare for our girl’s birthday while I think back when I first heard Synyrd announce “Lord, help me … I can’t change …” See ya tomorrow!

Love,

Paul

2 thoughts on “Good Things for Good People

  1. Great weblog right here! Additionally your website so much up very fast! What host are you using? Can I get your associate hyperlink in your host? I want my site loaded up as quickly as yours lol

Leave a Reply

