Friggin’ Chaucer


Turns out it was Chaucer, in 1374, who originated the proverb “All good things must come to an end.”  Without providing you with the history or makeup of Geoffrey Chaucer, let’s just say he was an affluent writer in his time, best known today for The Canterbury Tales.  This, as with many of these similar proverbs continues in our language today and it’s now as the clock runs down on my own little stay-cation when I wish I had never become familiar with it. ¶  Moments ago there were four of us here in the house and with the blink of an eye only two remain.  Bonnie and Taylor are now heading west to their respective places of employment while the new seventeen year old in the house slumbers. ¶ Why am I up at this hour on my own little vacation? Great question … I set my alarm last night for “way too early” to ensure those in the salt mines today had their daily dose of Papa’s coffee and to be honest with you, my own body clock  is in preparation mode for the inevitable.  So here I sit listening to the birds go on about their business while a very common chill is in the air this morning under gray skies. ¶ I suspect Bonnie’s drive to work this morning will be through a low-lying marine layer while she plans her own workday.  A far cry from her drive into San Francisco yesterday with the birthday girl for their day in the city together. ¶ When they arrived home yesterday it took little time for all of us to recognize the fact she found the college-dorm sized refrigerator idyllically located in her bedroom.  The face of this refrigerator is made of white-board material allowing me to pen my own greeting on it yesterday.  She opened the fridge to find it working with chilled bottles of her favorite root beer along with a selection of seltzer waters. ¶ Good things for good people … today she’s officially seventeen and wouldn’t you know it … one of the stops we need to make as father and daughter today is to have her nose pierced.  Today’s agenda is to keep things simple and since the garden outside has already been watered, the only logical thing now is to wait for Logan to awake and day five of my six day stay-cation will begin in earnest. ¶ I’ve enjoyed this task of daily writing and I really appreciate having the time off to spend with our youngest, including both today and tomorrow as these opportunities do not present themselves often enough.  So no agenda for today other than ensuring dinner is on the table when the ladies arrive home from work and of course the SOX game. ¶ Looking back on things I’ve realized there’s not been a lick of mischief in these self-prepared agendas this past week or so … friggin’ Chaucer was right, I guess all good things to come to an end.  ‘Til tomorrow …

Love,

Paul

71 thoughts on “Friggin’ Chaucer

  1. Pingback: URL

  2. Spot on with this write-up, I truly assume this web site needs a lot much more consideration. I’ll probably be once much more to read far much more, thanks for that info. 107534

  3. Normally I do not learn post on blogs, nevertheless I would like to say that this write-up extremely pressured me to take a look at and do so! Your writing style has been surprised me. Thank you, quite fantastic post. 66766

  4. Quite very good written post. It is going to be valuable to anybody who usess it, including myself. Maintain up the very good function – canr wait to read far more posts. 293485

  5. Hi there, just became aware of your weblog by means of Google, and located that it is actually informative. Im gonna watch out for brussels. I will appreciate should you continue this in future. Lots of folks will likely be benefited from your writing. Cheers! 537723

  6. Spot up for this write-up, I genuinely believe this internet internet site requirements a terrific deal far more consideration. Ill likely to finish up once again to read a good deal far more, a lot of thanks for that data. 895444

  7. Gems form the internet […]very few websites that happen to be detailed below, from our point of view are undoubtedly well worth checking out[…] 357116

  8. After examine a number of of the blog posts on your web site now, and I truly like your method of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark website list and can be checking back soon. Pls take a look at my web site as properly and let me know what you think.

  9. Oh my goodness! a amazing post dude. A lot of thanks Even so We are experiencing dilemma with ur rss . Dont know why Can not sign up to it. Could there be anybody obtaining identical rss difficulty? Anyone who knows kindly respond. Thnkx 832526

  10. Aw, this was a really nice post. In thought I would like to place in writing in this way moreover – taking time and actual effort to create a very good article but what / things I say I procrastinate alot and also no indicates apparently get something done. 378434

  11. I discovered your blog website on google and verify a couple of of your early posts. Continue to preserve up the superb operate. I merely extra up your RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. Searching for forward to reading extra from you in a whilst! 356026

  12. you are in point of fact a excellent webmaster. The site loading velocity is wonderful. It seems that you are performing any distinctive trick. In addition, The contents are masterpiece. youve done a fantastic activity on this topic! 769282

  13. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive read anything like this before. So nice to discover somebody with some original thoughts on this subject. realy thank you for starting this up. this web site is something that is required on the web, someone with just a little originality. helpful job for bringing something new to the internet! 768579

  14. Pingback: Google

  15. Nicely picked details, a lot of thanks towards the author. It is incomprehensive in my experience at present, even so in common, the convenience and importance is mind-boggling. Regards and all of the very best .. 716436

  16. I just want to tell you that I am beginner to blogs and definitely liked this web-site. More than likely I’m likely to bookmark your site . You absolutely come with very good writings. Appreciate it for sharing your blog site.

  17. Great post, I believe people should learn a lot from this website its really user friendly . “My father always told me, ‘Find a job you love and you’ll never have to work a day in your life.'” by Jim Fox.

  18. This is an impressive blog; I was trying to figure out how to keep in contact with this blog until I find out a decent iphone app for reading wordpress blogs. I really wish you to have a good day and keep with the good job!

  19. I would like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this web site. I am hoping the same high-grade web site post from you in the upcoming as well. In fact your creative writing skills has encouraged me to get my own site now. Really the blogging is spreading its wings rapidly. Your write up is a good example of it.

  20. I’ve been browsing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me. In my view, if all web owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the net will be a lot more useful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

