Reading is FUN-damental


There’s a pair of hours remaining in this work week, the weather is perfect and my bride and I shared lunch above the beach providing an already beautiful beginning to a weekend with no agenda. ¶ The desk I use at work has two monitors, one I use for the tools of the trade, and the other I’m currently using to see when the manager of our beloved Red Sox gets shown the exit.  Nothing yet, but I will certainly chime in should it happen while I pen this post. ¶ Last night while I waited for the Men’s Group to assemble I visited the library provided by Sutter Pacific and pulled a book from the shelves entitled “Cancer Has Its Privileges – Stories of Hope and Laughter” by Christine Clifford (founder of The Cancer Club®.  The second paragraph of the first page really grabbed my attention which reads “I was fifteen years old when my mother was diagnosed with breast cancer.”  Turns out I know a special young lady who recently turned seventeen years old who first learned of her mother’s breast cancer diagnosis when she too was fifteen years old.  Needless to say I haven’t been able to put the book down since. ¶ The topic of this book is to reflect on the importance of humor in our everyday lives, particularly for those actually battling the disease.  A great number of you know that I love to inject humor in the workplace, just the other day I found a New York Yankees water tumbler sitting on the desk of a co-worker, he was not in his office so I felt this to be “fair game” and within five minutes there was a ransom post-it not affixed to the tumbler.  When I returned to his office he stood there in shock to see me holding the tumbler with the NYY log emblazoned on it.  We shared a number of laughs and I returned the tumbler, complete with the post-it note.  That’s a little workplace humor, but at home, we all do our best to keep things very low-key and having an English bulldog that can find her way out the back door to do her business nearly seventy percent of the time 🙂  has really helped us all maintain a low-key environment in and around the home after the echoes of the four o’clock whistle is in the background.  ¶ In years past, Friday nights were our nights to howl, many of you can certainly attest to this. These daze our Friday nights have become the highlight of the week where a hodge-podge of tapas type foods are prepared, the couch is dented, the ballgame and/or Olympics are on and we settle in.  ¶ Tonight will be no different, but I have to share with you the nicest part of our luncheon today … while I was dropping Bonnie off at work she reached into her purse and pulled out a card and placed it on the center console.  I rolled down my window and said “who’s the luckiest guy in the world?”  We’re still talking about a woman who was diagnosed with Stage 2 Breast Cancer eighteen months ago, including a radical mastectomy and a handful of surgeries – and today she remains the center of my universe. ¶ If I can pass along anything to each of you it would be simply this … focus on the gifts rather than the pain of each new day for they are aplenty.  At the time of this post Bobby V remains to be the skipper of the rudderless Red Sox … message to Red Sox management: “No guts – No glory!”

6 thoughts on “Reading is FUN-damental

  1. Pingback: breast cancer recurrence lymph nodes

  2. Your comments about the importance of humor resonated with me, Paul, so I felt compelled to share.
    A man I loved, and love (in different ways) remains a survivor today, and I attribute it to 1) great medical care and advice, but more importantly 2) a fantastic sense of humor. The diagnosis was grim, with a caveat to “write a will,” but 20 some years later he remains cancer-free. Gods and Goddesses willing, he will remain so for a very long time.
    So, for anyone out there reading this, when fighting this battle that seems uphill and insurmountable, look “C” in the face and laugh! laugh long and hard! Find the humor when and where you can. Keep your chin up and smile. Smile a lot! Our minds have great power. Our internal voices have great influence. Let them send you happy, positive messages. CHOOSE life, no matter how long or shor, but choosing how you respond.
    In the immortal words of Auntie Mame, “Life is a banquet and most poor suckers are starving to death, so live, Live, LIVE!”
    Luv u guys!

    P.S. If you have never watched the classic old movie Auntie Mame, your first laughter treatment should include renting this movie and enjoy. Appropriate for the whole family … It remains one of my all-time favs!

  3. I like what you guys are up also. Such clever work and reporting! Keep up the excellent works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my blogroll. I think it will improve the value of my web site🙂.

Leave a Reply

