LuLu (2004-2012)


Rest In Peace

With some vintage Van Morrison on and a heavy heart I have some very hard news to pass … our dear friend of the family; Lu-dog has passed away this afternoon. LuLu has been a treasure for our little residence here for the past two years and today was an extremely difficult day for all of us. The past couple of days LuLu has shown difficulty getting out of bed and finding her food bowls, and for those of you that know the Lu-dog, you’d know that’s just not her! Logan has carried her these past two mornings and afternoons from her bed to her dog bowls and in some small way I think LuLu was letting us know her days were coming to a close. So, as in all things, we did this as a family, including taking Logan out of work early to spend the last hour or so with her at the vet before she was put to sleep. This blog as you know is all about the struggles and achievements we’ve made since being diagnosed with breast cancer. LuLu was a member of this family long before the words “ductal carcinoma” were ever researched and she was a phenomenal companion to Bonnie during her days of recovery. She was truly a wonderful pet, one we rescued from a bulldog hospital in Folsom, CA in October, 2010. LuLu was actually the genesis behind my first blog “Life With LuLu” and I’d like to capture the first thoughts ever shared on our wonderful bundle of bulldog with you today:

“As a parent you make promises. You do this either verbally, physically or by the mere fact you are capable of answering the request of your child. This past weekend my wife and I adopted a six year old English bulldog from an animal rescue here in Northern California as a gift for our youngest daughter. LuLu has been a member of the family since this past Saturday (a length of two days) and this blog and continued blogs will document our life with LuLu as it happens. Hope you enjoy.” – October 10, 2010.

LuLu – “we thoroughly enjoyed every moment spent with you honey.” I know your last two days were tough, though we hope these last two years have been all you could have ever wished for. I’m thankful for everything you provided us.

Rest in Peace LuLu.

Sadly,

Paul, Bonnie, Taylor & Logan

8 thoughts on “LuLu (2004-2012)

  1. Oh, Paul! I’m so, so sorry. Having been through this awful experience twice–first with my yellow lab Maddy, in 2006, and just a few months ago w our golden retriever Harry–I feel your pain. Rest well, sweet LuLu; your people will never forget you.

  2. so so sorry…..how we love our dogs and the love they give us unconditionally just fills our hearts…oxoPeter, Fran, Maddie and Izzie….

  3. Paul, Bonnie, Logan, Taylor I’m so sorry to hear of the news, how wonderful that you all and Lulu found each other and had the time you did have together!

  4. A friend sent me this when my sweet Charlotte died.
    Remember Me
    Remember me always, but do not grieve for me too long. I have tried always to comfort you in times of sorrow, and have made every effort to add joy to your life. I never wanted to cause you pain.
    Peace for me is certain now, and I suspect I will have eternal sleep in the earth I have loved so well.
    Please, after your period of grieving for me, make room in your heart for another. You are the kind of human being that should always have a friend like me to love. Your kind and gentle heart should not be wasted on my memory for too long. Give your love to another. I know your new friend will never take my place, because we had something very special.
    It may not be quite the same, but a new devoted and loving companion will in time, become special in their own way.
    You loved me very much and I loved you. My spirit will always be with you, and no matter how deep my sleep, my grateful heart will always be filled with love for you.

Leave a Reply

