There Was a Time …


 There was a time when an entry on this blog was a daily routine; there was a time when our heads were inundated with new medical terms requiring research understanding and hope; there was a time when getting up at the crack of dawn for a trip down into Marin was also a regular part of our routine; there was a time when all I did to keep myself engaged was getting ready for that 4:PM whistle to blow and paint the town (again); there was a time when my musical tastes were centered on three of four rock  bands; there was a time when I knew the ocean was to be my friend, my home and the one place in the world I felt comfortable. ¶ This look back in time would appear as though many of these things were left in the rear view mirror and as I made my quiet little ride into work this morning, hearing a song from my past allowed me to realize the rear view mirror was offering a reminder that all is well, and the roads we’ve traveled, the big ticket items we’ve knocked off our bucket list and the direction we’re heading in is exactly where we need to be. ¶ I’ve provided plenty of my own poetry on these pages these past twenty-two months, but the song I listened to this morning was written by one of the best song writers the world of rock and roll has ever known and hearing it this morning provided all the clarity I needed to start the day … without further adieu, here’s the lyrics to “Gettin’ In Tune” by Peter Townshend of “The Who” who filled my head in the 70’s and makes me truly thankful for not budging nor forgetting where my musical tastes were born:

“Gettin’ In Tune”

I’m singing this note ’cause it fits in well
With the chords I’m playing
I can’t pretend there’s any meaning here
Or in the things I’m saying

But I’m in tune
Right in tune
I’m in tune
And I’m gonna tune
Right in on you
Right in on you
Right in on you

I get a little tired of having to say
“Do you come here often?”
But when I look in your eyes and see the harmonies
And the heartaches soften

(Chorus)

I’ve got it all here in my head
There’s nothing more needs to be said
I’m just bangin’ on my old piano
I’m getting in tune with the straight and narrow
(Getting in tune with the straight and narrow)
Getting in tune with the straight and narrow
(Getting in tune with the straight and narrow)
Yeah, I’m getting in tune with the straight and narrow
(Getting in tune with the straight and narrow)

I’m singing this note ’cause it fits in well
With the way I’m feeling
There’s a symphony that I hear in your heart
Sets my head a-reeling

(Chorus)

Baby, with you
Baby, with you
Baby, with you
Baby, with you
Baby, with you

I’ve got it all here in my head
There’s nothing more needs to be said
I’m just bangin’ on my old piano
I’m getting in tune with the straight and narrow

Getting in tune with the straight and narrow [repeat]

Bonnie meets with her doctor this morning for her two-week checkup while she remains on disability after her recent surgery.  While my bride works on getting in tune with herself, her medications and balancing her physiological makeup, she knows her other half and her children are three things that have been in tune with it all while we are all confident things will work out nicely as she really is the symphony I hear in my heart.

Love,

Paul

Leave a Reply

